ISTQB/BCS Foundation Level ISTQB-FLA

Duration: 3 Days

Course Overview

The ISTQB Foundation Software Testing course is for everyone involved in the management or practice of software development, testing and acceptance, including users, designers, programmers, test analysts and software purchasers.
Managers, project managers, quality managers and team leaders responsible for preparing and implementing testing policies and strategies.
Business users, their representative, and analysts, who are involved in acceptance testing of new or amended systems. Effective testing is essential for reliable, quality software. The need, therefore, is to ensure a rigorous, visible, formal, measurable and repeatable approach to testing is an essential prerequisite to the reliable high quality systems which underpin modern organisations.
This course is sometimes referred to as Certified Tester Foundation Level (CTFL).

Learning Objectives

This course will enable delegates to:

  • Manage, plan and prepare rigorous, formal, visible and repeatable tests
  • Apply different testing approaches (black box, white box, static and dynamic) to all stages of software development
  • Prepare test plans, strategy, specifications, procedures and controls to provide a structured approach to testing
  • Identify what is involved in acceptance testing, system testing, integration testing and unit testing
  • Understand the need for and scope of test management, and document testing appropriately
  • Recognize the contribution of automated testing tools and define a process for their selection


    None, other than basic experience of IT systems and their use.
    Test your Skills - Software Testing Foundation Quiz

    • Fundamentals of testing
    • Testing through the life cycle
    • Static testing techniques
    • Test design techniques
    • Test management
    • Tool support for testing
    Exams & Certification

    The ISEB Foundation Certificate in Software Testing is taken at the end of the final day. It is a one hour multiple choice exam consisting of 40 questions. This is based on the 2010 International Software Testing Qualification Board (ISTQB) syllabus and successful candidates will receive a certification with both ISEB and ISTQB recognition.